Fried rice with quinoa and snow peas

Whenever my mom used to order chinese food for dinner, I would always be the last one to finish.  I’m a slow eater, but also a picky eater, literally.  I used to pick out everything in the fried rice and only eat the rice!  I grew out of this about a year ago, but, still, there’s nothing like a spoonful of RICE.
After recently meeting a vegan, I began to wonder what I would cook if I married a vegan. I know, I’m a little crazy for entertaining the idea, but I did.  I started researching other foods we can get protein from and quinoa came up on the list.  My friend Sam told me about it a while ago, but I just bought it last week after considering the future I may have as part vegan. Regardless of whether I will one day be vegan or not, quinoa will stay in my diet because it is healthy and it is amazing!
Here is a quick and simple recipe for you to enjoy.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup of uncooked rice
3/4 cups water
1/2 small onion, diced
1 T oil
1/2 tsp rice vinega
1/2 quinoa 
1 cup water
handful of snow peas
2-4 T soy sauce
1/2 t sesame oil
canola oil

step 1- put water, rice, onion and oil in a rice cooker or pot and cook until fluffy

step 2- while the rice is cooking, put the quinoa and water in a pot and simmer until translucent (about 8-10 minutes).  i did not cook the quinoa all the way because it will cook more with the rice and snow peas.

step 3- clean the snow peas and add to a wok or skillet with soy sauce and canola oil. Cook for a minute or 2 then add the quinoa and rice. stir and cook for another few minutes.

mmm mmm!  enjoy your rice (and quinoa)!

xx g

Leave a Reply

