Tea Party Time

Today I hosted my 2nd annual tea party!

Ever since I was a little girl, my mother has ALWAYS had a cup of tea in her hand.  Everyone always talked about their mom getting a morning cup of coffee, but mine had a cup of tea, and I thought she was special for that.  That’s why I drink tea now, I much prefer it to coffee anyway.  As I’ve grown older, I have found I enjoy hosting and entertaining guests.  Tea parties seemed like a good idea to me, so last winter I planned a tea party for my friends.  I got rave reviews, so I decided to make it a yearly tradition.

There are many traditions, etiquettes and particular ways about a tea party. One of the most misunderstood facts about tea party etiquette is that one should lift their pinky when sipping one’s tea.  NOT TRUE!  I don’t follow many of the traditions because I don’t expect my guests to know them, but this one I do.

My tea parties are small gatherings, so I break out my mom’s china and set the table for my guests.

I serve traditional items such as scones, tea sandwiches and, of course, tea.

I make raspberry scones and a few plain, served with clotted cream.  This year, unfortunately, I couldn’t find any so I use a quick, easy and delicious alternative: sour cream and sugar.

The most traditional tea sandwich is cucumber and cream cheese.  Many people are turned off by it, but it’s delicious, trust me, I had to make more for my guests earlier today.  There were four sandwiches on my menu today:
1. Cucumber and cream cheese with scallions
2. Hummus with red bell peppers
3. Peanut butter and jelly
4. Turkey and tomato with mayo
All sandwiches were served on 7 grain bread, with the crust cut off and cut into triangles.
When making your own tea sandwiches, get creative, but also keep it simple.  Don’t put too much, or too many layers.

This is my cup of english breakfast tea.  I thought I wouldn’t have enough tea cups for everyone, so I used one I got for Christmas from my sister.
Serving tea can be tricky at a tea party.  It is suggested to brew a whole pot of one type of tea, then boil a pot of water if someone would like a different kind.
I find it easier to boil a kettle of water and have my guests choose their own bag of tea.
        
Sam enjoying her tea!                       When we finished, we played poker


Hajera, Jenna, me, Sam, Kristina and Christine.  A toast to a successful tea party!

I hope you enjoyed this post and begin to plan your own tea party!  Let me know if you have any questions about hosting your own tea party, and please share details of your party.

xxx G

Leave a Reply

